To CES or not to CES?

CES LOGO

I know there’s a tremendous amount of press about the ongoing Consumer Electronics Show (CES) in Las Vegas. We had raging debates in the futurethink office about whether we should add to the buzz by blogging about it. I’ll be honest: I leaned towards a no, guessing that if you’re reading this blog, you probably know all about the largest technology showcase in the world.

Today, however, I’m a changed man. It feels disingenuous for the show to be on our minds and we deliberately avoid it. So, blog about the CES I will. To calm nerves with my co-workers, I promise this will be the only post about the event that we’ll make.

We look at the CES from an innovation point of view. There’s hundreds of exhibitors and it’s hard to sort through them and find the real innovations. So, I took a shortcut, and if you’re time-starved (as most of us are),  I suggest you do the same.

If you want to see some of the hottest products on display at this year’s CES, just look at the awards that the event is giving out. Here are two useful links:

There’s the CES Innovations 2008 Awards Honorees list: I like this list because its broken down by category.

There’s the “CNET’s Best of CES” awards: They feature videos of the products that made it to their list.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

